Panel to name 2 lawmakers who would weigh in on stadium deal

Published 09/30 2016 08:28AM

Updated 09/30 2016 08:28AM

Two people who could decide the fate of a Las Vegas NFL stadium deal will be appointed to the Nevada Legislature.

The Clark County Commission is set to meet Friday morning to choose representatives for Assembly districts 1 and 5 after lawmakers in those seats resigned.

The seven Democrats who applied to replace Democratic former Assemblywoman Marilyn Kirkpatrick are Nathan Atkins, Jo Cato, Louis De Salvio, Gary Fisher, Kevin Schmidt, Stephanie Smith and Henry Wilczynski.

The three Republicans who want to replace Republican former Assemblyman Erv Nelson are Ron Coury, R. Garn Mabey Jr. and Kyle Stephens.

Gov. Brian Sandoval said he intends to convene lawmakers in early October to consider raising Las Vegas-area hotel tax to help fund a football stadium, a convention center expansion and more police officers.

Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.